Series-Is the Side Hustle Right for You? Part 2: How I Plan and Schedule my Content

Welcome back to my series on “Is the Side Hustle Right for You“! Before jumping in to Part 2, I want to recap Part 1: How I Got Started for you.

Let’s get to it!

Last week I shared my journey on how my side hustle of social media management, came about. Through the connections I made back in Houston, I was blessed with the opportunity from a fellow blogger friend who told me about it. This time last year I had been laid off from my job and had to move back home to Dallas, with my parents.

Basically while I waited and applied for jobs, I worked for a local non-profit creating and managing their social media, and I’m still doing that  along with a few other clients!

This year so far has been a whirlwind of growth for my side hustle, I’m learning a lot and want you to learn with me on my side hustle journey!

So if you’re still reading, I’m assuming you’re down for that side hustle life, or you’re already living it! In today’s post, I’m sharing with you how I plan and schedule my content for my clients, which is an essential part of your business.

With working a full-time 9-5 job, I don’t always have the time to sit and post for my clients, so I PLAN, PLAN, and PLAN some more. In the past I’ve tried to just come up with ideas on a whim, but that doesn’t always work, especially when you’ve worked 7-8 hours at your main job.

The Planning

How do I plan and come up with creative content for my clients? I normally use my weekends, early in the morning (takes about 2 days) to literally sit and plan everything for that month. This thinking and planning process takes about 3 hours per client, of diligent planning and tons of coffee. It sounds like a lot, but I section off 3 hours for each client and devote that time to their needs. Here’s a visual breakdown:

 

1

 

2

 

 

3

 

When I’m planning, I’m making sure to include the themes for that month; which social media platforms to use, how many blog posts and email newsletters to send out, etc. This process alone takes at least 2 days out of the month and saves a lot of time for you to keep working your day job and enjoy life too.

I like to do my planning at coffee shops, with good WiFi, ample seating and strong coffee. The planning process takes some time, and needs your undivided attention, so find a work spot that will allow you to focus.

The Scheduling

Now that we’ve got the plans for each client done, let’s schedule and automate them! This is the fun part for me lol, scheduling every post gives me a sense of relief because I know I have one less thing to worry about.

What I like to do, is use a basic, excel color coded content calendar (tongue-twister) to plug everything in, so I stay on track of what is being posted. Also you can do the planning with your client, it’s always a good rule of thumb to get their input, because at the end of the day it’s their brand that’s being promoted.

An example of my content calendar:

Content calendar on excel.png

After scheduling everything, I use 2 of my favorite automation systems; Buffer and Hootsuite. Although there are a lot more systems to use to automate your social media and blog posts, these 2 are my favorite.

Automation is your friend, and paired with planning and scheduling your content, you’re on way to building more clientele (because you’re amazingly organized) and increasing your income!

Finding out what works for you, is going to take some trial and error, I still look for ways to work smarter and not too hard, because I still want to enjoy life while I work my business. You can too!

happy planning.png

 

I hope this post was helpful, feel free to share and let me know if I can help you with your social media !

Leave a Reply

