A Natural Hair Style that will Fit Under Your Grad Cap: Collab w/ Fresh Kinks

Graduation is vastly approaching…

Which means that everything in life wants to happen all at once; the intense search for credible decent paying jobs, going on endless interviews, keeping up with the last of bit of school work and trying to not slip into the ever-so-tempting senioritis (consisting of nonstop Netflix binges and sleeping all day).

Aside from all of that, I teamed up with my “Blogger Bestie” Rachael of Fresh Kinks, on grad looks that work for natural hair. Because let’s face it, these caps weren’t made to fit our glorious crowns of hair! With our step-by-step approach, we were able to achieve these easy and cute looks, for your big day!

DSC02300

 

DSC02303

 

DSC02310

 

DSC02316

 

DSC02325

 

DSC02345

 

DSC02336

 

So at this point, I sectioned my hair into 3 parts; 2 on the sides and 1 on top. Next I started my braid from the left side and did another one on the right. After braiding both pieces, I combined both braids into one to give it an effortless look. Although I thought about getting weave for this big day, I remembered where I lived- in Hot Houston, TX. And there’s definitely no way I’m going to wear my fro out, so that I can turn into a Sweaty Betty. This style needs some prep work, such as blowing it out the night before and conditioning it.

 

DSC02366

 

DSC02370

 

DSC02390

 

DSC02417

 

DSC02429

 

Remember those sections we parted in the previous steps? Well now we’re going to split the top section into 2 more parts and use a flat-iron to curl them. You can use any heat protector for this step too. Now let’s change this shirt and put this whole look together!

 

DSC02813

 

DSC02815

 

DSC02820

 

DSC02838

 

1Pinterest Collage

This style is perfect for my graduation, especially since it’ll be in the middle of the day (prime time for the heat and humidity). I wanted to straighten it, but by the time I walk across the stage my hair will revert back into a fro causing me to sweat and feel uncomfortable. As well I love that I didn’t need many hair products to get this style, it’s effortless and still has that “special day” factor. Thank you for reading, and also don’t forget to head over to Fresh Kinks for more hair inspo!

Congrats Grads!

Products Used:

Lotta Body Wrap Me Foaming Mousse

Fructis Extreme Control Anti-Humidity Spray

Pink & Purple Flat Iron

Wide Tooth Comb

 

3 thoughts on “A Natural Hair Style that will Fit Under Your Grad Cap: Collab w/ Fresh Kinks

  1. Pingback: Graduation Natural Hairstyles that will Fit Under a Grad Cap: Collab with Spookieloo! – Fresh Kinks by Rachael Dion

Leave a Reply

